Members' Council

All institutions to hold membership of the SURF cooperative association are also co-owners of SURF. The Members' Council represents the members, and is the cooperative's most senior body.

Responsibilities of the Members' Council

The Members' Council has the following statutory responsibilities:

  • adopting the articles of association
  • approving the financial statements
  • appointing the members of the Supervisory Board and the Board
  • approving the SURF cooperative's Strategic Plan (strategy) and Annual Plans 


The Members' Council meets at least twice a year and consists of 34 members, divided over six departments with a predetermined number of seats: 

  • research universities: a maximum of 14 members, to be appointed by the universities
  • universities of applied sciences: a maximum of 10 members, to be appointed by the Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences
  • senior secondary vocational education institutions: a maximum of 3 members, to be appointed by the Netherlands Association of Vocational Education and Training Colleges (MBO Raad)
  • non-academic, non-commercial research institutions: a maximum of 3 members, to be appointed by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), and the Member's Council (each appoints 1 member)
  • university medical centres: a maximum of 2 members, to be appointed by the Netherlands Federation of University Medical Centres (NFU)
  • other: a maximum of 2 members, to be appointed by the Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research (TNO) and the National Library of the Netherlands. 

The members sit on the board for a maximum of 4 years and may be reappointed twice.

Decision-making process

Decisions are made on the basis of an absolute majority vote (more than half of all votes cast), unless the articles of association or applicable legal provisions call for a greater majority. The chair of the Scientific Technical Council or his/her designated representative is authorised to attend meetings of the Members' Council and will serve in an advisory capacity.

Chair of the Members’ Council a.i.

  • drs. M.H.T. Jansen

    Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Representative, Research Universities

  • prof. dr. ir. drs. Hester Bijl

    Universiteit Leiden

  • dr. Nick Bos

    Universiteit Maastricht

  • Rens Buchwaldt, MBA

    Wageningen University

  • dr. W.D. Bult

    University of Twente

  • mr. A.D. van der Feltz

    Open Universiteit

  • mr. J.P. van Ham

    Technische Universiteit Eindhoven

  • drs. E. Hus

    Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam

  • drs. Wilma de Koning-Martens

    Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen

  • drs. J.W. Lintsen

    Universiteit van Amsterdam

  • prof.dr. A. Pijpers

    Universiteit Utrecht

  • drs. P. Snijders

    Tilburg University

  • prof. dr. E. Sterken

    Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

  • drs. N.A. Vermeulen, MBA

    Technische Universiteit Delft

Representative, Higher Professional Education

  • W.E. Brink MA, MA

    Hogeschool Rotterdam

  • ir. A.P. de Buck

    HZ University of Applied Sciences

  • drs. I.T.J. Grimm

    Christelijke Hogeschool Windesheim

  • drs J. van Iersel

  • J. Nederlof, RC

    Fontys Hogescholen

  • dr. M.J.W.T. Nollen

    Hogeschool Inholland

  • drs. R.J.G.M. Verbruggen

    Hogeschool de Kempel

  • dr. P. van der Wijk

    Hanzehogeschool Groningen

  • T. Zweed

    Hogeschool Utrecht

Representative, Senior Secondary Vocational Education

  • drs. C.L.E.M. van Gerven

    Koning Willem I College

  • M. H. Koster-Wentink MA

    ROC Nova College

  • G. Vreugdenhil RA

    ROC van Amsterdam-Flevoland

Representative, Non-University/Non-Commercial Research Institution

  • prof. dr. J.F.T.M. van Dijck

    Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen

  • drs. C.E. Visser

    Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek

  • drs. W.W. van Wijngaarden


Representative, University Medical Centres

  • Cees Buren, MBA RC


  • prof.dr. F. Miedema

    Universitair Medisch Centrum Utrecht

Representative, Other Institutions

  • ir. Marc van den Berg

    Koninklijke Bibliotheek

  • ir. C. Eberwijn


  • prof. dr. T.T.M. Palstra

    Rector Magnificus

    University of Twente