The Members' Council of SURF

The Members' Council represents the members and is the highest body of the cooperative. The Members' Council appoints the members of the Board and the WTR on the recommendation of the Supervisory Board and convenes at least twice a year.

Tasks of the Members' Council

  • Adoption of statutes
  • Approval of the annual accounts
  • Appointing the members of the Supervisory Board of the Management Board and the Scientific Technical Council
  • Approval of the SURF Cooperative's Long-Term Agenda (strategy) and annual plans

Division of members

The Members' Council consists of 34 members divided over six departments. A fixed number of seats is available per department. Members shall be assigned to one of the departments of the Members' Council which shall take decisions on behalf of its members. The voices of all members are therefore heard. The members serve a maximum term of four years in the Members' Council and can be reappointed twice.

Department Maximum number of members To be appointed by
Research-oriented higher education 14 Research universities
Higher professional education 10 Universities of applied sciences, via the Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences
Secondary vocational education 3 MBOs via he Netherlands Association of VET Colleges
Non-commercial and non-university research 3

- 1 by NWO
- 1 by KNAW
- 1 by the Members' Council

University medical centres 2 UMCs via NFU
Other 2 TNO and the KB National Library of the Netherlands

Decision-making process

Resolutions are passed by an absolute majority (more than half) of the votes cast, unless the articles of association or the law propose a larger majority.

The Chairperson of the Scientific Technical Council or a deputy appointed by him/her is authorised to attend the meetings of the Members' Council and has an advisory vote.

Members of the Members' Council

Chair a.i.

  • drs. M.H.T. Jansen - Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Representatives of research-oriented higher education

  • drs. M. Ridderbos RC - Universiteit Leiden
  • dr. N. Bos - Universiteit Maastricht
  • R. Buchwaldt MBA - Wageningen University
  • dr. W.D. Bult - University of Twente
  • mr. A.D. van der Feltz - Open Universiteit
  • dr. M.M.N. Ummelen - Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
  • drs. J.A.W.M. Biemans - Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
  • drs. W. de Koning-Martens - Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen
  • drs. J.W. Lintsen - Universiteit van Amsterdam
  • A. Ottow - Universiteit Utrecht
  • drs. R. Ritsema van Eck - Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam
  • drs. P. Snijders - Tilburg University
  • drs. N.A. Vermeulen MBA - Technische Universiteit Delft

Representatives of higher professional education

  • W.E. van den Brink MA - Hogeschool Rotterdam
  • drs. I.T.J. Grimm - Christelijke Hogeschool Windesheim
  • drs. J. van Iersel - Van Hall Larenstein
  • J. Nederlof RC - Fontys Hogescholen
  • dr. M.J.W.T. Nollen - Hogeschool Inholland
  • dr. J.G.M. Reuling - Hogeschool van Amsterdam
  • drs. R.J.G.M. Verbruggen - Hogeschool de Kempel
  • drs. R.W. Zoutendijk - Driestar educatief
  • T. Zweed - Hogeschool Utrecht
  • < Vacancie >

Representatives of secondary vocational education

  • drs. C.L.E.M. van Gerven - Koning Willem I College
  • M.H. Koster-Wentink MA - Graafschap College
  • G. Vreugdenhil RA - ROC van Amsterdam-Flevoland

Representatives of non-commercial and non-university research

  • mr. F.M. Damme - RIVM
  • drs. C.E. Visser - Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek
  • mr. M. Zaanen - KNAW

Representatives of university medical centres

  • C.J.H. Buren MBA RC - Radboudumc
  • prof. dr. C.H. Polman - VUmc


  • ir. M.J. van den Berg - Koninklijke Bibliotheek
  • ir. C. Eberwijn - TNO