SURF members

The Dutch universities, colleges of higher education, university medical centres, secondary vocational educational institutions and research institutions work together in SURF to develop ground-breaking IT innovations. More than 100 institutions from 5 sectors are members of the SURF cooperative. These are categorised into 6 departments:

Research universities
  • Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam
  • Open Universiteit
  • Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen
  • Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
  • Technische Universiteit Delft
  • Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
  • Tilburg University
  • Universiteit Leiden
  • Universiteit Maastricht
  • Universiteit Utrecht
  • Universiteit van Amsterdam
  • University of Twente
  • Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
  • Wageningen University
Universities of applied sciences
  • Aeres Hogeschool
  • Amsterdamse Hogeschool voor de Kunsten
  • ArtEZ University of the Arts
  • Avans Hogeschool
  • Breda University of Applied Sciences 
  • Christelijke Hogeschool Ede
  • De Haagse Hogeschool
  • Design Academy Eindhoven
  • Driestar hogeschool
  • Fontys Hogescholen
  • HAS Hogeschool
  • HZ University of Applied Sciences
  • Hanzehogeschool Groningen
  • Hogeschool Inholland
  • Hogeschool Leiden
  • Hogeschool Rotterdam
  • Hogeschool Utrecht
  • Hogeschool Viaa
  • Hogeschool de Kempel
  • Hogeschool der Kunsten Den Haag
  • Hogeschool iPabo
  • Hogeschool van Amsterdam
  • Hogeschool van Arnhem en Nijmegen
  • Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht
  • Hotelschool The Hague
  • Iselinge Hogeschool
  • Marnix Academie
  • NHL Stenden Hogeschool
  • Saxion
  • Van Hall Larenstein University of Applied Sciences
  • Windesheim
  • Zuyd Hogeschool
Senior secondary vocational education (mbo) institutions
  • Aeres Groep (Groenhorst College)
  • Albeda College
  • Christelijke Onderwijs Groep Vallei & Gelderland-Midden
  • CIBAP vakschool voor vormgeving
  • Curio
  • Da Vinci College
  • Deltion College
  • Drenthe College
  • Friesland College
  • Gilde Opleidingen
  • Graafschap College
  • Grafisch Lyceum Rotterdam
  • Grafisch Lyceum Utrecht
  • Hout- en Meubilerings College
  • Koning Willem I College
  • Landstede MBO
  • Leidse instrumentmakers School
  • Lentiz Onderwijsgroep
  • MBO Amersfoort
  • MBO Utrecht
  • MboRijnland
  • Nimeto Utrecht
  • Noorderpoort
  • Onderwijsgroep Tilburg
  • ROC Alfa-college
  • ROC Aventus
  • ROC Friese Poort
  • ROC Horizon College
  • ROC Midden Nederland
  • ROC Mondriaan
  • ROC Nijmegen
  • ROC Nova College
  • ROC Rivor
  • ROC van Amsterdam-Flevoland
  • ROC van Twente
  • Regio College
  • Rijn IJssel
  • SintLucas
  • STC-Group
  • Stichting Vakinstelling SVO
  • Summa College
  • Terra
  • Vista College
  • Vonk
  • Yuverta
  • Zadkine
University medical centres
  • Academisch Medisch Centrum Amsterdam
  • Academisch Ziekenhuis Maastricht
  • Erasmus Universitair Medisch Centrum
  • Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum
  • Radboudumc
  • Universitair Medisch Centrum Groningen
  • Universitair Medisch Centrum Utrecht
  • VUmc
Research institutions
  • Integraal Kankercentrum Nederland
  • KNMI
  • Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen
  • Naturalis Biodiversity Center
  • Nederlands Forensisch Instituut
  • Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek
  • RIVM
  • ZonMw
  • Koninklijke Bibliotheek
  • Nationaal Archief
  • Politieacademie
  • TNO
  • Universiteit voor Humanistiek

Representation of sectors

SURF serves 5 sectors: research universities (WO), universities of applied sciences (HBO), secondary vocational educational institutions (MBO), university medical centres (UMCs) and research. A number of directors from each sector are represented on the Members' Council so as to ensure proportional representation of holders of the management portfolios: education, research and business operations.

The members of SURF are categorised into 6 departments on the Members' Council: research universities (WO), universities of applied sciences (HBO), secondary vocational educational institutions (MBO), university medical centres (UMCs), research and other members. To draw up plans, research and other members work together as the Research+ department. Although we refer to sectors and sector priorities, they do not formally constitute a sector.

Read more about the Members' Council

Purchasing services from SURF

Joint services are developed and offered within SURF so that members can benefit from economies of scale and do not have to reinvent the wheel on their own.

Institutions purchase a service by concluding a service agreement with the operating company that provides the service.

Read more about purchasing services from SURF

Special interest groups (SIG's)

 SURF brings IT professionals together within networks and collaborative projects for knowledge sharing regarding IT innovation. Experts from educational institutions work in SURF's Special Interest Groups (SIGs) with colleagues from other institutions. They share and develop knowledge about current IT topics in education and research.

To Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Becoming a member

SURF is a cooperative with more than 100 members. These include all of the Netherlands' funded universities and research centres, most of the universities of applied sciences and universities of applied sciences, and various research institutions. An organisation that wishes to become a member of SURF must comply with certain conditions.

To become a member of SURF